Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 09-28-2009, 10:38 AM   #1
LessPaul
Connoisseur
LessPaul doesn't litterLessPaul doesn't litter

Device: Kindle Paperwhite 2021 / PC / iPad
Suggestions

As I've only been using Calibre for a few days, I'm far from an expert on its use. However I've been a programmer for 30 years.

1) I am surprised to discover that while Calibre has a robust plugin architecture, that architecture does not include a "Tools" or "Utilities" category. Currently, tools appear to be hardwired in to the right-click menu.

Say for example I wish to extract and set the default ebook cover from a selection of ebooks. I'd like to be able to select the books in the GUI, click on a Tools menu, and select a python plugin to perform my desired task upon all selected ebooks.

2) Another idea, though perhaps not architecturally feasible, would be a preference setting to save ebook series as series/author/.... (My motivation is based upon German pulp series extending to over a thousand issues, with many, many authors. )

3) Metadata has a field for ebook Language, I'd like to be able to access it.

4) Ebook imput. Here is where I think something really cool could be done. Again, I have in mind large existing ebook collections. I would like to see a preferences screen as follows.
- Each metadata item, Title, Series, Index, ISBN, etc are listed separately.
- To the right of each item is a pull-down menu allowing selection of which input plugin to use for that particular item, as well as the "filename regex" feature already in place.

In other words, instead of all/nothing filename or metadata, an item-by-item user selectable preference.

Now I have a hard decision to make. Perhaps it is time to dive in and add Python to my list and see what I can do to help make Calibre the best it can be.

Thanks all.