Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 09-20-2009, 07:24 PM   #1
KingAztech
KingAztech began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS 505
Top Right Screen Corner

Okay, I've got a rather weird issue here.

Exactly 2 months ago I bought a Sony PRS 505 e-reader from a seller on play.com. The e-reader is absolutely amazing and it was at a discounted price of £129.99. The seller claimed it's absolutely new but the only thing that is the issue was the packaging; the corners of the box was a bit worn out from the usage, obvious marks of having it posted a few times.

Anyway, being a poor student I thought I should take advantage of it as the price was good.

Untill this morning I had a issue with my screen haven frozen. I spent hours googling till i found this site which helped me out so much in resetting the e-reader. Anyway, after the reset a small box in the top right corner appeared blanking out the text... I thought it was odd and thought it wasn't too bad, so i checked to see if the area was just frozen or something.. so i turned it off, resetted it, changed the view to landscape... nothing worked. The weird thing is, when i changed the view to landscape the box started to increase in size. I thought it was my eyes since the white box didn't touch the [1] square on the screen yet... the next time it did. When i turned it off it almost covered the [1].

I didn't damage the screen physically... how can i solve this? please help. I've contacted the seller but I doubt he will help me. I read the posts in the forum and it seems like Sony won't repair screens.

Was thinking maybe to go legal... but that is only if nothing else works.

See below links for the images:
http://img36.imageshack.us/i/pic241q.jpg/
http://img29.imageshack.us/i/pic240i.jpg/

Last edited by KingAztech; 09-20-2009 at 07:28 PM.
KingAztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 12:52 AM   #2
salasnet