Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-13-2011, 11:45 PM   #1
Goondu
Goondu began at the beginning.

Device: PB902, Sony 950
Quickest or best way to sort/edit metadata and series?

Hi

I am new to Caliber but I think it is great.

I decide to use it for my ebook management.

Over the years, I have accumulated 500+ ebooks

Few questions:-
1) What is the quickest way to edit metadata and social metadata?
For example I have 20 plus books by Agatha Christine. They have various degree of completed metadatas. If I highlighted all my Agatha Christine books and click bulk metadata, I might get wrong metadata for some books. Going through one book at a time is quite time consuming

2) What's the easiest way to categorise books into a series?
Say for example my Agatha Christine's book again. Some of the books are part of a series eg Miss Marple. And they are from different publishers. So some metadata put them down as belonging to the `Miss Marple' serie, some don't. How do I sort the series out in the simplest way?

3) I notice some people classify their books as `Title - Author Last name, Author First name'. I prefer `Title - Author First name , Author Last name'.
Any advantage of the former?

Sorry if my questions sounds so mundane and anal, but I love to my ebboks collection sorted out nicely once and for all

Thanks
Goondu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:52 AM   #2
theducks
Well trained by Cats