Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 06-24-2011, 04:37 PM   #1
nimrod337
nimrod337 began at the beginning.

Device: none
Here we go again: What eReader do you recommend?

Ok, I am going to list the things that are important in my purchase, and then list the things that are unimportant. Hopefully some people with more experience in this area could chime in and let me know what I should do.
(just to be clear, I have done a fair amount of background reading on several eReaders I was looking at (K3 and nook... I have no idea what types of nooks are out there, but I just did some general compare/contrast business.))

The cares:
-I want first and foremost, to be able to read books on this thing. Lots of books, and long time. This means e-ink is a must.
-battery life (one week is the minimum I will deal with.
-PDFs: I am a graduate student studying plant genetics, and I need to read a lot of scientific literature. I would love it if I could put science papers on my eReader, and keep them organized within a folder or something like that.
-I'm not talking about just being able to read PDFs. I want to be able to do it with some level of ease. I don't want to jump through tons of hoops converting to this, converting from this to that, then resizing and whatnot once I finally get it.
I've read that the K3 can do it, but it's really cumbersome. And the text is often not even readable.

-basically, if I can get an eReader to do those things really well, I'll pay almost anything. But if the PDF support is not fluid and somewhat easy to do, I will just scrap that whole plan and get a K3.

The "don't cares"