Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 03-21-2009, 09:50 PM   #1
ruchti
ruchti began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 2
New to Calibre... TOC question

I'm new to Calibre and really pleased that the programs works well with my Kindle (which I'm also new to), but I've run into a problem. I searched the FAQ and other forums and haven't found the solution, so hopefully I'm not repeating too much here...

I'm running Calibre on a Mac and using it to keep track of my downloaded non-DRM books (from here, manybooks, etc) in .prc format. However, the metadata is horrible, so I'm using Calibre to correct it and then transfer to my Kindle. After editing the data in Calibre, converting to MOBI, and then transferring the book to my Kindle, the metadata looks great, but the table of contents doesn't work. It's there, but when I click on a chapter, it just links back to first page of the book. The same thing is happening after conversion when I try to view the book in the Calibre viewer.

Here's the process I've been using:

1) Add the .prc book to Calibre
2) Edit the metadata
3) Convert to MOBI (I've reversed steps 2 and 3, same problem)
4) Save to Disk and Send to Device

Any suggestions to help retain the functional TOC would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Jonathan
ruchti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 09:58 PM   #2
Nate the great
Sir Penguin of Edinburgh