Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 06-13-2009, 02:19 AM   #1
trincam2008
trincam2008 began at the beginning.

Device: none
Which one to buy if I read a lot of .pdf?

Hello,
I've spent ages trying to decide which ebook reader to buy, finally narrow down to Sony PRS 700 & 505.
I know this question has been asked tons of times and I've also searched and read most of the things related I found on this forum -> still cant really find the answer to some of my thoughts.

A bit about the background:

1. I am in the UK so for now only the PRS 505 is available for £179.99 (~ $296.4), However, I can also get a PRS 700, brand new with 1 year warantee from B&H with the price of (£244.3) - $402.35 (including shipping) -> the price matters, not too important but as I am a student I wish to get the best deal

2. I am a uni student + I read quite a lot. I've been using my computer and a O2 Xda Exec to read ebooks but ereader seems the best option for less eyestrain + I can carry a lot with me anywhere -> I already have quite a big collection (read and want to read) of ebooks, especially in .pdf

I 1st tempted to buy the PRS 700 with its many new features (especially faster refresh rate and search abilitty) and then I am aware of the screen problem i.e not quite like reading a book, extra plastic between screen + text due to the touch screen, glare issue, with PRS 700 compared with the PRS 505 as many report. Nearly chose PRS 505. For searching, I can always use my laptop as I have a copy there anyway, same story for taking note. Both have bookmarking. Then some more reading reveal that the PRS 505 is not so good with reading .pdf and most of my stuff right now are in .pdf

I really want to buy one now as my exams are over (YAY) and I love to start reading those I want (not what I have to . My problem is that as I am in the UK, there's no way I can test the devices myself.