Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Related Tools

Notices

Old 03-09-2010, 02:32 PM   #1
godzilla8nj
godzilla8nj began at the beginning.

Device: G1
Headless Calibre Server Setup

I'm looking for advice or a guide to help me set up a headless Calibre server for multiple devices readers (Kindle, iPhone, Android phones, etc.) to access.

I'm using a VPS (VPSville) with choices of Ubuntu Server 8.04 - 9.04.

I've already tried and failed to install Gnome and VNC on the VPS (not sure if that's my own fault or the specialized VPS templates) so I could access Calibre graphically. (Here is the failed attempt. I cannot get past a missing fonts error.)

I'm not brand new to Linux, but I am self-taught with many gaps and this is an ambitious undertaking for me. So any hand-holding would be appreciated.

The deliverable would be a server I can add Project Gutenberg and Creative Commons licensed ebooks to for the public library at which I work so that we may retain our own collection of ebooks. (Currently we subscribe to titles with DRM-restrictive Overdrive.)

Thanks in advance to anyone with recommendations.

Last edited by godzilla8nj; 03-09-2010 at 02:46 PM.
godzilla8nj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 02:52 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre