Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 07-20-2010, 09:00 PM   #1
riverteeth
Enthusiast
riverteeth began at the beginning.

Device: iPhone
Paid alternatives to Calibre?

So I started playing around with Calibre yesterday on OS X. While I'm definitely impressed with all it can do, my overall impression is that has some serious limitations, perhaps steming from the fact that being tri-platform, it's trying to be all things to all people. It doesn't have the professional feel that a paid for catolog program like Adobe Lightroom for pictures or Thomson Reuters Endnote for Bibliographies has.

So I'm really looking forward to getting the max out of it in the coming weeks and months, but I'd love to at least know about some other similar software, some of which might not be free and open source, to compare it with.

Any thoughts? Thanks!
riverteeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:35 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various
By conservative count, calibre has approximately a million more features than any paid alternative. If you're looking for a professional "feel", you're not looking for features. The two are orthogonal.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-20-2010, 09:40 PM   #3
avinatbezeq
Connoisseur