Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 08-25-2009, 05:17 AM   #1
LucasCorso
Enthusiast
LucasCorso doesn't litterLucasCorso doesn't litterLucasCorso doesn't litter

Device: Kindle DX
Hello, everybody... And some Kindle DX questions

Hello. I've read this forum for a few months already, trying to decide on the perfect ereader; of course, it doesn't exist (don't believe everything Star Trek movies will show you!). After a dissapointing exerience I had playing with a 6 inch ereader, a friend from USA has sent me a Kindle DX, which I should receive this week (I'm worried a little about what will happen with the customs, since I live in Belgium and I'm not sure how much they will invoice). I can't wait to play with the device, I've read the manual a few times, I've prepared the files to copy on the device (different tests I want to do, specially with PDF files). I work as a C/C++ programmer and hopefully I will contribute something to this nice community.
Sorry for the long introduction, now I have some questions:
1. Where can I buy a French dictionary to replace the default one provided with the Kindle DX? Searching Amazon.com for one didn't show any results.
2. I understand there is a hack to connect the Kindle DX to the internet (in fact to play with its software, accesing the Kindle OS from the computer). This hack works with the latest firmware (2.0.3)? I don't know yet what firmware it will have, but if it is 2.0.3, is it still possible to install the usb networking hack?
3. I made a lot of tests converting to and from various formats. It seems PDFs are not a good source to convert from. But, if I convert a PDF (I know it can display these files natively) to Mobi for example, won't that decrease too much the quality of some pictures for example, since Mobi files are supposed to be read on smaller screens (so lower resolutions)? Which is the best software to convert from PDF to Mobi/PRC so I can zoom in, change the font size, etc.?