Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 05-03-2013, 09:38 PM   #1
the9th
the9th began at the beginning.

Device: Kobo Glo
The Problem and a Question of Cases

I'm new here, this is my first post, so I'm just gonna jump right in with my experience.

The Problem:

I bought a Kobo Glo from Indigo/Chapters on February 27, 2013. Today, it had verticle lines of e-ink going down he screen. No matter how much I restarted, factory and regular, it stayed the same. I was extremely depressed after reading some accounts of how if it was a physical issue like a broken screen, the warranty was void. I'm a university student and I'm in the middle of writing a thesis, so I had moved all my books onto my Kobo as I do much of my reading on the go.

I called up Kobo and after a Kafkaesque experience going through their customer care phone system (complete with cryptic beeps and disconnections half-way through conversations, insufferable small-talk about the weather, and faulty email experiences), I finally gave up. They asked for a photo of the front and back of the device along with proof of purchase, etc etc. So I sent all of that, but then suddenly in a bout of anger I decided to walk down to Indigo and try my luck with an actual human being instead of a faceless, anonymous extension of a company- given there's not much of a difference most of the time. Ironically, this all happened the day after syncing Marx's Das Kapital.