Notices

Closed Thread

Old 03-13-2011, 04:07 PM   #1
mmessina
Author-saurus-rex
mmessina has learned how to buy an e-book online

Device: kindle
Pessimistic new author introduction.

I know I shouldn't be such a downer but it's a sort of self-defense mechanism for coping with failure ;P

[Promotional material deleted - MODERATOR] - I then promptly realized this thing is not going to sell without some marketing/promotion; did some research and found that a vast majority of kindle's books never sell. Some disheartening comments about going up several hundred thousand places (literally) in the best seller's list by selling a meager 3 copies made me think ya know, this probably is going to be a disappointment if I don't act now.

So I looked around and a large amount of blogs recommended coming here to post. I've got some weird experience using social media networking in that I've helped two multi-billion dollar companies setup their social media systems. I on the other hand, have trouble promoting myself. Shameless self promotion, as it is, is not necessarily my strong point. Works great if I'm doing it for someone else though, go figure. So I'm here to get some positive influence; maybe sell a few copies, and hopefully come off more knowledgeable about the 'biz' then before I came in.

Next stop is the author's self-promotion corner as soon as I gather the courage to write up a splendid piece on why people should read my book :P

Any other suggestions are definitely welcome

Last edited by Dr. Drib; 03-10-2014 at 06:41 AM.
Old 03-13-2011, 04:19 PM   #2
MickeyC
Grand Sorcerer