Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Alternative Devices

Notices

Old 10-10-2007, 09:55 AM   #1
MrSands
MrSands began at the beginning.

Device: ebookman
Playstation Portable as an E-reader? Or other cheap ones

I have been using my good old franklins ebookman for about 5 years now and it has served me quite well, I would convert pdf files into txt files and read from there. However I have come to some books that are heavily graphics based and I think its time to move on to newer devices.

I was thinking of getting a PDA or a Smartphone, however I wont be using the extra features since I have a phone that I like and I'm not much of a digitally organized person, i prefer to write things down. Being in Australia its very very hard for me to find the dedicated electronic ink devices. So I'm thinking outside the box, a Playstation portable or an iPod touch.

Since the introduction of the iphone update I think the ipod is out and so my main contender is the PS Portable. Its cheap now standing at like $250 at some stores, much cheaper than smartphones or PDAs. I know there is a program for it called Bookr that can read PDF files, so im wonder if anyone has any experience with it - How good is it? How is the battery life, how easy is it to transfer files and anything I should know about.

Also does anyone have other suggestions for cheap (under $500) devices that can read PDF files?
MrSands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:21 PM   #2
JSWolf
Resident Curmudgeon