Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Old 07-02-2011, 11:27 AM   #1
UnWeave
UnWeave began at the beginning.

Device: none
[Solved] Engadget recipe - full article text

Is there a way to alter the engadget recipe such that it downloads the entire article?

E.g. for the recent Windows Phone 7.5 Preview, the recipe only gives the first paragraph, and then a link. This is fine for short articles, but having to load up the browser to read the entirety of the longer ones seems (to me) to undermine the point of saving to an eBook format in the first place.

I don't mind having a go myself (I have some experience with Python), but I don't know where to start. I have looked at other recipes, and the API docs, but the few things I thought might work just broke it ...

Thanks!

Last edited by UnWeave; 07-03-2011 at 09:27 AM. Reason: Clarification
UnWeave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:37 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Various
You'll need to set use_embedded_content=False then add code to cleanup the article html
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-02-2011, 08:56 PM   #3
Starson17
Wizard