Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 02-08-2010, 10:06 PM   #1
LarryLaser
LarryLaser began at the beginning.

Device: MS Reader (.LIT)
Conversion from .doc & .docx??

Hello Kovidgoyal

I am very impressed with your invention, the Calibre seems to be very nice, so far.
But I am new to it.
Recently I have been trying to create a new set of Study e-Books for the Foundation of our country, mainly cause that education is no-longer being taught in schools now, It was when I went to school, but that was 40 years ago. A lot of people have asked Questions and made a lot of complaints about the operations in our government groups, not politically based, all sides are screwing up.

So my objective is to create a Study Guide that has a lot of the Information, Starting with the Baseline or our system,
  • The Constitution,
    The Bill of Rights and the Amendments,
    then Have the Letters and Comments from our Founding Fathers,
    and including baseline of the Interpretations,
    (basic English and simplistic definitions) comments made by Teachers and Educator over a long time.
and to have quick links, like hyperlinks that can go back and forth to the definitions of statements, comments or questions in the e-book.
So far my book is over 800 pages (8.5x11) in the Word 2007 version, I can create the e-book in .pdf format but the conversion to MS Reader fails cause of CSS errors, mainly cause Word 2007 puts way too much meta-data in the file. Not kidding, in the base file there are over 2000 lines of meta-data. When I convert it to HTML format and then clean out a lot of the crap, It begins to partially work as I wish, But I have a lot more to go.

So my Questions,
Are you considering making the Calibre conversion process handle the input of the .doc and .docx formats??
And if so, will the converter be able to clean up the crap not necessary in the files??