Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 09-30-2006, 02:59 PM   #1
bhaggerty
bhaggerty began at the beginning.

Request: Picture of Letter/A4 PDF on the Reader

Hi all,

Could I trouble any of you folks lucky enough to have received your Reader to post a picture / scan of what an A4 or Letter sized PDF document looks like on the Sony Reader's screen? If it's possible to post pictures of both the portrait and landscape rotated screen that'd be terrific.

I know it'll be small, and I've read postings that indicate it's too small to be usable, but I just wanted to see it for myself. I usually read in the 2up (sometimes even 4up) format, so i'm used to eye-straining text.

By way of background, I work in the finance industry and would love to have a way to carry research reports, etc. around. Most of those are formatted for an 8.5x11 printer and I have no control over the authors.

Also, I came across this program that looked like it could be useful for squeezing the most out of the limited screen real estate by ditching the extra wide PDF margins: http://www.verypdf.com/pdfinfoeditor...help/help.html

Thanks very much
Bruce
bhaggerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2006, 04:22 PM   #2
Paul Moews
Enthusiast
Paul Moews began at the beginning.

I'm not sure a picture would help as a picture at a reasonable resolution can be blown
up enough to read. I find that most letter size documents can be read by using the
landscape mode and holding the reader an inch or two from your nose. As well the
size button, switches between "fit width" and "fit visible", sometimes helps if there is
white space at the top or bottom of the page. I'm not sure what Sony means by
"fit width" and "fit visible", it doesn't seem to know about margins? or does it ? maybe
it knows where type starts and ends. If it does work the page is shown at a higher
magnification - works in landscape or portrait.