Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Old 10-07-2014, 09:39 PM   #1
jrabbit12
jrabbit12 began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle
Question Help with long term access and content preservation

Hello,
I am a library graduate student beginning research for an Archives and Media course. I wanted to jump into ebooks but didn't anticipate all the file formats in addition to devices! I'm wondering what the discussion in the community is about the preservation of straight-to-epublised works and how migration between devices and file formats is being anticipated.

Anything information or personal opinions will be helpful/appreciated.

Thanks!
jrabbit12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:47 AM   #2
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle Oasis 2, iPad Pro 10.5", iPhone 6
Why do you say "all the formats"? There are only two formats that matter: Kindle (by far the largest number of sales) and ePub, and converting between these is trivial. I don't really see where the problem lies.
HarryT is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-08-2014, 02:49 AM   #3
AnemicOak
Bookaholic