Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2021, 04:14 AM   #1
sadra84
Junior Member
sadra84 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: none
Problem setting up calibre development environment

I'v read this page and done it step by step:
1- I downloaded the source code from github
2- I set environment variable CALIBRE_DEVELOP_FROM
after these steps I started calibre but error message appears. I used calibre-debug to find a problem:
Code:
Python function terminated unexpectedly
  'module' object has no attribute 'zip' (Error Code: 1)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site.py", line 101, in main
  File "site.py", line 77, in run_entry_point
  File "C:\Users\*****\Downloads\Compressed\calibre-master\src\calibre\__init__.py", line 9, in <module>
    from polyglot.builtins import codepoint_to_chr, unicode_type, range, hasenv, native_string_type
  File "C:\Users\*****\Downloads\Compressed\calibre-master\src\polyglot\builtins.py", line 69, in <module>
    zip = builtins.zip
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'zip'
then I went to builtins.py and add
Code:
print(builtins.__file__)
before
Code:
zip = builtins.zip
map = builtins.map
filter = builtins.filter
range = builtins.range
and the output was:
Code:
C:\Users\*****\Downloads\Compressed\calibre-master\src\polyglot\builtins.py
which is the path of builtins.py itself
I can't understand what does buitins.py do. Please explain it and help me to solve the problem
Thanks
sadra84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 05:09 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,860
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Make sure you have installed calibre 5.0 or newer
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 09:10 AM   #3
sadra84
Junior Member
sadra84 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: none
Actually I'm still using Windows 7 in this PC. So I can't install versions higher than 3.48
Is there any source code that is compatible with version 3.48?
Thanks
sadra84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 10:01 AM   #4
sadra84
Junior Member
sadra84 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2021
Device: none
I found the source code of 3.48 and it works well
Thanks
sadra84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about setting up the Calibre development environment dejavudwh Development 1 02-08-2021 11:33 PM
Need help in setting up a Development environment gabox01 Development 6 05-01-2018 06:35 AM
Setting up Calibre development environment EngelEatos Development 3 04-22-2018 12:20 PM
Setting up a development environment ... BWinmill Kobo Developer's Corner 27 06-16-2014 08:21 AM
Setting up Mac Calibre development environment? pdurrant Calibre 2 01-06-2009 07:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.