Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Reading and Management

Notices

Old 02-02-2010, 06:16 AM   #1
Carlo Z
Mac dev
Carlo Z began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 2
New Mac tool for 2-way Instapaper sync

I hope this is the right board… I think it is, but if it isn't: apologies to the mods, feel free to move the thread to whereever.

Hi all,

the name's Carlo Zottmann, I'm a software dev from Munich, Germany, and I've been lurking the MobileRead forums for a few months by now. So far I didn't have anything to say, but now I have, and here I am.

Yesterday, I've released my first Mac tool. It's called Ephemera and allows for two-way syncs between a reader and one of my favourite sites, Instapaper.com.

(Instapaper is brilliant… It lets you mark pages on the net for later reading; when you have time, you catch up with your reading list. But that's just the first half of it; its second half is an iPhone client which lets you read the content-only, stripped-of-fluff versions of those pages on your handheld. Loving it.)

Having used IP for a few months, as soon as I got my Kindle I knew I just had to get my news on it as well. And only a few weeks later, here I am. Since app programming on a Kindle isn't possible (yet), I wrote the next best thing: a Mac app.

Ephemera will synchronize your ebook reader with Instapaper.com via USB. It works with the Amazon Kindle, Sony readers and pretty much any device capable of reading HTML, Mobipocket or EPUB files. Being a lazy person, I've also added some convenience features: Ephemera can automatically start up, sync, and then unmount your reader when it detects the USB connection.

Anyways, what good are tools unused? I'd be delighted if you guys could take a look, give it a spin, and let me know what you think. (Be gentle, please — it's my first Mac app. )

Many thanks,
Carlo

PS: Right now, it requires OSX Snow Leopard running on 64bit. I'm working on the 32bit version, but I'm still wrangling MacRuby there…