Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 07-27-2010, 05:24 PM   #1
mikey19
mikey19 began at the beginning.

Device: Nook or Kindle
Question Help, I cannot decide whether I should return my nook and get a kindle or not

Hi everyone,

this is my first post; i found this forum to be pretty helpful.

im a medical student and just bought a nook wifi+3G at B&N store. This is my first ebook reader, and i think i rushed the purchase a bit. I wanted some device that I can download textbooks to and bring to class and library so I can study off of.
I need it to be portable, able to go online, and highlight, annotate texts. Also since I can read chinese, I'd like it to have chinese support also.

after buying the nook, I just realized nook's store does not have any textbooks at all while amazon sells kindle medicine textbooks.
I also know about Calibre, but do not know how well it works in converting books - say if I buy an electronic textbook from kindle/amazon and want to convert it to a format that nook can read? (like pdf or epub?)

Also another factor is how upgradable/moddable these things are- as in how much support there is in the modding community? I realize nook is Android based, but I read somewhere that kindle is linux based; is there a lot of extra features can be had from these two devices? I have an iphone before and jailbroke it, and it was awesome.

I was just wondering if I should return my nook and get a kindle ? (or some other device that I do not know about?); the textbooks function is pretty important to me as well as internet access.
btw, i am very tech savvy, and do not mind to mod any device to get features as long as it doesnt involve crazy coding or writing my own programs (last programming class i took was in highschool...)

thanks!
Mike
mikey19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 05:39 PM   #2
susan_cassidy
Wizard