Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Android Devices

Notices

Old 05-29-2011, 09:29 PM   #1
MCCPC
MCCPC began at the beginning.

Device: htc Aria (Android Phone) and a Coby MP3/MP4 player
Question I'm new to all this, and I'm having a few headaches with "DRM" protected books

Hi! I'm new here (I'm also new to the world of eBooks) & I'm hoping I can get a bit of

Some background: I recently got an Android-based phone- the htc Aria. I was so thrilled to see you can read on it! Because I also recently bought a media player that can play mp3s, mp4s, audiobooks and supposedly that could read .epub and .pdf books. However, after buying two books I discovered that my little media device cannot read "DRM" books. Ack! On my laptop, the only application I can open the two books in is Adobe Digital Editions.

So now... I have several questions! One, is there an Android app out there that will alow me to read "DRM" protected eBooks on my phone? As a side note, because my service provider is AT&T, I can only shop for apps on the "Android Market"- Amazon is out. Which is a bummer because I love shopping on Amazon! Question two, are there ANY eBook stores out there that sell non-DRM books? I mean recent, best-seller books, not out-of-copyright books. Three... What is DRM stripping? I've herd mention of it... but I have no clue how to do it or if it is even a good option. Four- dose anyone know where I could buy audio books for my phone? Again, Amazon Audibles is not an option because of my AT&T service

My husband wanted to buy me an ereader such as a Kindle, Nook, ect, but I shyed away from spending so much money on a device that only dose one thing, on top of then having to re-purchace all of my fav. books which I have already purchaced hard copies of. It sounded like a money-hole to me Now I have a better understanding as to why those readers are so popular!!
MCCPC is offline   Reply With Quote