Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader > Sony Reader Dev Corner

Notices

Old 06-08-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
TedPark
Zealot
TedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankindTedPark has exceeded all limitations known to mankind

Device: Sony 505
Most Important Improvements

Hi all - I an new and just got my reader. I am a computer scientist and something of a Human Interface expert and, while I could critique a lot of little things, it seems that there are three high-priority issues. In my view, high priority being based on const/benefit considerations:

1. Why isnt't the Author list based on the "reading" attribute? After all, isn't that what it's for? And isn't Sony the experts and keepers of the BeBB Spec?

2. When pressing the number buttons to activate a particular book, there is no feedback. When the book loads right away, that's not a problem. If the book is large and takes several seconds to load - some feedback that the push button actually "took" is badly needed.

3. Finally, there is a most urgent need to edit the meta data of the LRX files. I have downloaded close to 500 hundred books. About a hundred are LRX format. I have used CALIBRE to carefully edit all the titles, authors, author sort, and file names for each book in LRF format. Unfortunately I can't "fix" the LRX files. So I get some bizarre titles and authors. <sigh>