Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > HanLin eBook

Notices

Old 02-16-2009, 06:00 PM   #1
sfrey
sfrey began at the beginning.

Device: none
For to Buy?

Hello, before I start, this is the place to post questions about the BeBook, right?

I just returned my Cybook planning to return it for a Bebook (as advised here https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...t=37502&page=4). My purposes are to read scientific papers, because I am a student. Cybook's A4 PDF support was actually satisfactory, working on 95% of files, even old scanned A4 sheets, once you got the hang of it. However, it crashed on PDFs, TXT and HTML a lot, had no folder support and I wasn't confident that there were going to be regular firmware updates. I was attracted to Bebook's wide variety of supported formats and regular firmware updates, but, after just today getting my refund processed on the Cybook, I was really bummed out to find the following:
http://mybebook.com/forum/viewtopic....5&p=3200#p3200
Only 3 zoom levels, compared to Cybook's 10 levels (not including rotation vs landscape modes). So now I'm kicking myself, and not sure if I should go through with it and buy the Bebook. I won't be reading any mobi or ebooks at all. I will read only TXT, HTML and (mostly) scanned PDFs.

So the questions:
1) Should I take a leap of faith that better PDF support is imminent?
2) Being that OpenInkPot seems well-supported on this reader, does it have the flexibility I need for scanned A4s to be readable (keeping in mind that I was satisfied with the performance of another small-format reader) (Also keeping in mind that I'm comfortable with all the trials and tribs common to opensource OSs). In other words, does Openinkpot's firmware have zoom/rotate flexibility comparable to that of the Cybook?