Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 08-29-2010, 09:34 PM   #1
kajoob
kajoob doesn't litterkajoob doesn't litter

Device: Kobo
Arrow How do converted ePubs look on the Kindle?

eReader newbie here. I did a bit of searching on the forums here, but didn't really see a thread that answers my particular question.

I've been looking at eReaders for a little while now. ePub support is big in my book so I pulled the trigger on a used Kobo on eBay. I haven't gotten it yet, but I've played around with it the Borders store and it's fairly decent, but it does have its flaws. No wifi, page turns are a little slow, and there's no search feature. BUT, since it supported ePub, I got it instead of the Kindle.

After looking on these forums, I understand that you can convert ePubs into a Kindle compatible format. My questions is this: How do those converted ePubs look on the Kindle? Is it just convert and go, or is there some tinkering? If there is some tinkering, does the text looks just as good as a native amazon ebook?

I wouldn't mind converting ePubs if it meant I could use the Kindle since the reviews seem to indicate it's a really nice eReader. However, the most important thing is that the text and formatting is just as good as you would get from the amazon store. I want to take advantage of ePubs from my library system and I may sell the Kobo and get a Kindle if a converted ePub is the exact same quality of a native amazon eBook.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by kajoob; 08-29-2010 at 10:33 PM.
kajoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:09 PM   #2
ATDrake
Wizzard