Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > More E-Book Readers > iRex

Notices

Old 05-27-2008, 02:30 AM   #1
golagha
Enthusiast
golagha began at the beginning.

Device: iRex iLiad Black
Is it possible to learn linux on iLiad (practically)?

Hi,
I am totally new to iLiad. Honestly I have no iLiad! but I want to buy one. I have two questions:

1. Assume that I want to learn linux. now I need the following:
. . . . a : a good and easy book on linux and with a good format which needs minimum zoom, pan, etc. operations on iLiad. I think that something in prc or pdb format is good. Am I right? where can I find a free ebook as mentioned above?

. . . . b : a simulator for linux operating system on iLiad. I read something about mxvrt (or something like that name! I dont remember) which is a linux shell. Is it enough for me to learn linux on iLiad?

2. Is there any compiler for gnu c++ on iLiad? so I can write simple programs for my immediate daily needs?

regards and thanks in advance.
golagha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 04:13 AM   #2
Martijn
Connoisseur
Martijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-booksMartijn has learned how to read e-books

Device: iLiad
I don't know about 1a. There are plenty of resources on the web though (like http://linuxcommand.org/), so you could use plucker to create a pdb file.

There is no "simulator" for the linux OS on the iLiad, the iLiad runs linux natively
The program mxvrt indeed opens a shell so you can access the command line.
If all you want to do is to learn the command line, then I guess you could do it on the iLiad.
I wouldn't recommend it though.