Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Old 04-29-2012, 09:27 AM   #1
Cleophauna
Cleophauna began at the beginning.

Device: Kobo Clara HD
Question Editing conversion of PDF to EPUB

I converted a PDF to EPUB. (using Calibre)The only problem Is that a couple of chapters converted every sentence to a paragraph as well as individual words to paragraphs. I unzipped and edited the individual html files, didn't change any filenames, rezipped and the chapters I edited now don't show up when opening the epub. Did I miss something? I used kompozer to edit the files. This is my first attempt at editing. This type of problem is extremely annoying to me, which prompted me to learning how to correct it.

I assumed that as long as I didn't change any structure, or filenames I'd be safe. But you know what they say when you "Assume".
Cleophauna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Probably a better less error-prone way would be to use Sigil (an open source epub WYSWIG editor) to do the editing after conversion to ePub. That would ensure that everything stayed properly epub compatible.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 04-29-2012, 11:18 AM   #3
Cleophauna