Notices

Old 11-08-2009, 09:37 AM   #1
Gabbar
Gabbar began at the beginning.

Device: ipod Touch 8 GB (Fall 2009)
Reading Sanskrit documents on ipod Touch

Hi all,

I am a newbie to this forum.

Am considering to buy ipod Touch as a ebook-reader-cum-pocket-computer.

I tried reading Sanskrit documents (Veda & Upanishads) on my friend's ipod touch. Faced the following problems:

a) GoodReader rendered the Sanskrit beautifully (it did not have any complex script issues - described later on). But reading required horizontal scrolling (a few taps for each line) which was quite cumbersome. And unfortunately GoodReader could not reflow the Sanskrit docs.

b) Stanza could convert the pdf to a single font epub ebook. So documents having Sanskrit text and English translations of Sanskrit could not get rendered properly. Either the English text would show (if appropriate font was chosen) or the Sanskrit text would show (with poor rendering).

c) A Sanskrit only pdf document converted to epub would render properly on the Stanza viewer on Windows XP. But when transferred to the ipod, the Stanza app did not render the Sanskrit complex script properly. Specifically the half characters - like in the Sanskrit word Agni, ga is a half character and then we have full character consonant na and vowel e - are not combined properly and so make reading the badly rendered Sanskrit quite painful. [I am sorry I am not able to include images showing the correct rendering and the incorrect one and so folks not knowing Sanskrit would have difficulty in understanding what I have said.] In Windows XP one faces the same problem if one does not choose complex script rendering option [Install Files for complex script and right-to-left languages (including Thai)].

d) Tried Calibre but the resultant epub book faced the same problems as mentioned above (b & c).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.