Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 08-05-2011, 09:58 PM   #1
innocent-sheep
innocent-sheep began at the beginning.

Device: none
Kobo Touch + pdfs.

Hello MobileRead community. To make a long story short, I have about 3 pdf textbooks I want to read, but since it costs about $80 each to print, I'm considering an eReader because it would be cheaper. So what are your thoughts on viewing pdfs on the Kobo Touch?

Keep in mind, even though I am a student, the pdfs I'm reading aren't for class (just for my enjoyment), so it doesn't need to be completely "efficient" (for lack of a better word). I also like that I can read other eBooks on it and that it's eInk.

I've played around with a Kobo Touch before looking at one of the pdfs, and it looked fine to read (even without zooming in), but I'm not sure how it would be after a while of use.
innocent-sheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:31 AM   #2
rjcroy
Bibliophile
rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rjcroy ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Sony PRS-T3, Kobo Touch
Reading an A4/Letter formatted document on a 6 inch screen is not very ideal, unless the text is large enough to read when scaled down. So it depends how the PDFs are formatted. PDFs make much more sense of the larger screens of tablets.
rjcroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert