Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > Writers' Corner

Notices

Old 12-01-2015, 04:43 PM   #1
cfFairy
cfFairy began at the beginning.

Device: none
Getting Started

Hi, I'm pretty new to this, so this might be a bit of a dumb question but bear with me What software/programs would work best for writing an ebook. I'm familiar with InDesign and Word, but are there any other word processing programs that I should look into? Or does it matter at all?
Thanks!
cfFairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 04:52 PM   #2
AnemicOak
Bookaholic
AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.AnemicOak ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: iPad Mini 4, AuraHD, iPhone XR +
Wouldn't you "write an ebook" the same way you write any other book?

InDesign is a page layout/design program not a word processor. If you're also laying out a book for print then using it to also produce an ePub might not be a bad option, but it seems like overkill if you're final production is going to be digital only. Also I can't imagine you'd want to do the actual writing in a page layout program.

Besides Word there is Open Office, Libre Office and IIRC the Writer 2 ePub extension works with both of those to output an ePub (don't know how good of a job it does). There is also Atlantis Word Processor and Scrivener is a popular program with many.