Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-10-2010, 03:45 AM   #1
pda_junkie
Enthusiast
pda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watchpda_junkie is clearly one to watch

Device: Pocketbook 360, Kobo Glo
File duplicates & error

Hi

First of all, thank you to Kovid and all the other developers working on this great software. I'm new to Calibre but already loving how I've been able to organize my book collection.

I have a question and an issue which I couldn't really find answers for in the forum or in the FAQ.

When Calibre created the file structure, under the Author main folder, there are subfolders which are by title. That's fine. However there are files residing outside of the subfolders which are duplicates of the ones in the subfolders. I know the recommendation is not to mess around with the files and directory structure but since I don't really have a big HD, I'd like to get rid of the duplicates to save space. Since these duplicates don't show up on Calibre, I assume (correctly I hope) that there is no problem if I delete them?

The issue I encountered also has to do with these files that are residing outside the subfolders. While I see duplicates, I also see files that are not showing up in Calibre and there is no subfolder either. When I add these files in, the title subfolder would be created correctly but when I tried to view the file using Calibre, I would get an error message:

ERROR: Could not open ebook: (2, 'No such file or directory')

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\viewer\main.py", line 60, in run
File "threading.py", line 477, in run