Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > PocketBook

Notices

Old 12-23-2010, 11:14 AM   #1
JOliver13
JOliver13 began at the beginning.

Device: PocketBook IQ 701
My First Impression of my PocketBook IQ

This being my first eReader, I don't really have anything to compare my experience to. Not only am I new to eReaders but I am new to Android also. I have a basic cell phone to fit my basic needs, although my husband is obsessed with his Droid Incredible.

I have to say, that I LOVE this device! I upgraded the firmware immediately and I downloaded LauncherPro like suggested so I have been messing around with my wallpapers. I also added the Kindle app and Borders app, along with the Moon Reader and FBreader, only because it was suggested I do so, not sure how I would use them yet. For the browser I downloaded Skyfire - I know Opera Mini was suggested but wasn't sure if that would be better?

I read a short free book from Amazon last night and had no problems with the display or with eye strain. I find that the screen is very responsive and the PocketBook is easy to navigate in general. I love the e-mail and Facebook shortcuts, those are the two features I use at home the most.

One thing that took me by surprise was the screen quality. It isn't bad but it isn't as clear as I thought. The icons show up great but videos on youtube and such aren't as clear as I thought they would be. I don't plan on watching alot of videos on this so really its not a big deal for me.

Right now I am using a 4GB memory card and believe it or not I still have just about 3.5GB left. I don't know what else there is to do to this device (I have it rooted, from the thread instructions, but I really have NO idea what this means). I may upgrade to an 8GB card just to be on the safe side but right now 4GB seems to be enough, I guess we will see when I start downloading more books!