Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 08-23-2011, 10:12 AM   #1
AhShoo5n
AhShoo5n began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 3
invalid library ... UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't ...

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie. Please correct me if I'm posting in the wrong place or committing some failure of etiquette (I have tried to look around, but there's a lot to take in).

I've just spent (possibly wasted) the last few days, importing the bulk of my ebook collection into Calibre. Now Calibre appears to consider the library that I created is 'invalid' (see error message and traceback below ... BTW, why not make the error dialog box text selectable?).

This appears to be a character encoding problem, but I'm not aware of any changes to my UTF8-based system.

OTOH I may have accidentally failed to close Calibre before a reboot. Could this have caused a single byte error?

Any ideas on diagnosis and recovery would be much appreciated. I'm not sure that I can face re-importing all the data files and reconstructing all the metadata.

P.S. I'm running on:

Linux 2.6.35-30-generic #56-Ubuntu SMP Mon Jul 11 20:01:08 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux

===========
Error Message
===========
invalid library already exists at /foo/bar/baz, delete it before trying to move the existing library.

Error 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 58-59: invalid continuation byte.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/wizard/__init__.py", line 567, in move_library
File "site-packages/calibre/library/database2.py", line 216, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/library/database2.py", line 494, in initialize_dynamic
File "site-packages/calibre/library/caches.py", line 937, in refresh
File "site-packages/calibre/library/sqlite.py", line 311, in run
File "site-packages/calibre/library/sqlite.py", line 293, in __init__