Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2009, 01:05 AM   #1
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
Question IOError errno 5?

Code:
(5, 'Input/output error')

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 57, in run
    self.result = self.func(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/device.py", line 224, in _upload_books
    metadata=metadata, end_session=False)
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/devices/prs505/driver.py", line 126, in upload_books
    self.put_file(infile, paths[-1], replace_file=True)
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/devices/usbms/cli.py", line 61, in put_file
    shutil.copyfileobj(infile, dest)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/shutil.py", line 30, in copyfileobj
    fdst.write(buf)
IOError: [Errno 5] Input/output error
This is the error I get when I try to upload anything to my new PRS600. This is using version 0.6.19 of Calibre. If anyone has had the same problem or has any tips, I'd appreciate it!
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
An I/O error indicates calibre is not able to write files to the device. If you are transferring to a storage card,try a different one. If to the main memory, can you transfer files using windows explorer?
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-21-2009, 11:42 AM   #3
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
Sorry, it was late last night, and I apparently was too tired to leave a decent description of what was happening. Calibre manages to write _some_ of the ebook to the ereader. Generally it gets anywhere from 1 corrupted page up to about 40 pages and the 40th is corrupted.

I am on linux, so I mounted each drive the prs600 makes available, and I can write to everything except the fake cd drive it provides that has sony reader software on it (this being that it is a read-only device).
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 12:02 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That would indicate a problem with your reader. calibre just uses standard file system calls to copy files to the reader drives.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 02:56 PM   #5
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
How, if I can write to the device just by mounting it and writing to it with "cat > blah"... why can't calibre? They are using the same system calls I would assume.
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 10-21-2009, 04:54 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yeah calibre just uses fopen and write

One thing to check is with what options is the device being mounted
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:36 PM   #7
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
Aha!

Ok, I figured out what I was doing wrong. Because I still put all my mounts in /mnt (I'm old school like that), I didn't notice that Calibre was mounting my reader over in /media/${NAME OF READER}. So there were these stale mount points that Calibre was trying to write to, and the device was mounted multiple times, and all sorts of shenanigans. Since I was testing the device on just the _latest_ mount point, the file descriptor still worked, wheras with the other mounts it was kinda best guess as to linux's behavior.

Once I unmounted all the stale mount points, and started anew, the writes went through just fine


My problem really was that when I hit "Quit" on Calibre, I just assumed it would be unmounting the device. I guess that assumption is wrong. If I didn't want it to unmount it, I probably would have just kept it in the tray though? This behavior was non-obvious to me, but I could just be naive.

Thanks for your amazingly prompt responses, and thanks for calibre
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 11:18 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
calibre does not automatically unmount the device unless you click the eject button or unplug the device.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 11:26 PM   #9
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
If you quit calibre, then unplug the device, it wont get unmounted.
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:16 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Yeah I'm not going to write a systemservice that runs in the background to mount/unmount devices. That is the OSes job. The fact that linux has totally messed up USB device management is unfortunate, but not a problem that individual app writers should have to solve.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 02:28 PM   #11
codemac
Junior Member
codemac began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2009
Device: Sony PRS-600
I would agree with you completely except that you do automatically mount the device, you just don't automatically unmount the device. So for me it would be easier if it was that neither automatic or both automatic. But whatevs, I know what the behavior is now, so it doesn't really matter.
codemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 02:36 PM   #12
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 43,858
Karma: 22666666
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
After detecting the device calibre waits to see if the OS auto mounts it, only if it doesn't will calibre mount it.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument jkcoder Calibre 5 09-25-2010 09:28 AM
Errno 13: permission denied errors prophetik Calibre 12 05-15-2010 05:31 PM
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied s3ntient Calibre 3 02-20-2010 02:01 PM
[Errno 2] in any2epub deegee Calibre 0 12-14-2008 10:36 AM
rtf2lrf shows IOError: [Errno 2] if special characters in filename xixix Sony Reader 9 03-07-2008 01:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.