Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Old 08-24-2012, 05:22 PM   #1
HectorP
HectorP began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle Fire
epub-to-mobi - titles lost in TOC/NCX

Hello everyone. I’m new to calibre and on this forum and would like your expert help with an issue I have encountered in epub-to-mobi conversions. I’ve browsed through postings with related topics, but found nothing about this problem.

The issue is: I have a number of EPUBs that were exported from InDesign CS5 (ID) books using a css stylesheet generated in Dreamweaver which I want to convert to MOBI. (I’m running an XP sp3 system). In those books, each book chapter/article is a separate document in the ID book, so, when the book is exported to epub, ID generates an epub Table of Contents (with the filenames of the ID documents of the book, which I have named as I want the title of each chapter/article to appear in the TOC). That TOC has titles in English and Spanish because the books have articles in both languages.

Using one book as an example, the epub TOC is complete (with 57 titles) and functional when I open the epub in Adobe Editions, an iPad, or in the calibre previewer. But after conversion to MOBI (with calibre version 0.8.64), only 25 of the titles are shown in the MOBI TOC and in the NCX View, whether in Kindle or caliber previewers or in a Kindle Fire. Upon checking, the titles that are missing are all those that have accented characters or other Non-English characters (i.e.: á, é, ó, ñ, etc.). The links in the TOC English and Spanish-with-no-accented-characters titles that do display in the TOC and NCX are completely functional and remit to the proper article. (All accented and extended characters in all the mobi book text display correctly).

The same thing has happened in all epubs I've so far converted to mobi.