Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 12-06-2009, 01:22 PM   #1
keegon
keegon began at the beginning.

Device: none
Question Newbie asking for Advice

Ok, so I've spent the past few hours going through the conversations, and it seems that most users enjoy the Sony PRS-505. However, I can't find one anywhere. I am currently studying abroad in Europe for the next couple years, and was hoping to get an ereader offline. Here's what I would like mine to have:

I want... read books (html/pdf/etc)

borrow books from library

read graphic novels (Comics, is that even possible?)

insert sd/memory

bookmarks (or an easy navigation system)

good battery/replaceable

good screen/can read in daylight (idk the difference between ink
and LCD)

password protect it? I'm not even sure if this is an option.

Any advice on the e-book reader would be greatly appreciated. I've all ready looked at the E-book Reader Matrix, but I think it just confused me more.
keegon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:38 AM   #2
nick101
Groupie
nick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheesenick101 can extract oil from cheese

Device: Sony PRS-600 Touch, iPhone
The 505 has been superseded by the 600. It's still available in odd places (my local M&S has some - or did last week).

If you can't find a 505, your easiest choices for offline buying is the Sony 600. The Sony 300 doesn't have a card slot. None have replaceable batteries. In normal use, you can expect a week or more from them between charges.