Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > News

Notices

Old 02-25-2010, 12:21 AM   #1
tsantsa
tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.tsantsa ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: none yet
Reading speed

I am a rather slow reading. Not for lack of intellect, but for lack of tolerance for missing something. I think.

I have a friend (attorney by trade) who is a good reader and reads very well. He also reads very quickly. I can't remember the details, but he explained that he read some hefty book in about nil seconds (one of Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series comes to mind) while I explained that it took me weeks to finish said book. We started talking about plot points and little things we liked/disliked. He mentioned that some details do seem to escape him from his reading speed.

I went on about how I wished I could read faster so that I could read more. He said he envied me for being able to soak in detail.

So, should I try to speed up my reading with the potential of losing some detail, or just leave it as is and soak it in?
tsantsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 01:05 AM   #2
lene1949
Wizard