Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > Workshop

Notices

Old 02-24-2010, 06:33 AM   #1
dar72
dar72 began at the beginning.

Device: PRS-600
Newbie Questions

Hi,
I'm new to all this, got a PRS-600 recently and started scanning my books to put onto it. I've got several in Abbyy now, they've OCR'd fine, I've corrected some mistakes but I'm unsure what the best way of proceeding is.

I think I'd like them in epub format unless anyone can give good reasons why it's not a good format? I know for sure I don't want them in pdf format.

I've outputted to Open Office in various formats, exact, editable, formatted and they all seem to be ok, no page numbers or anything on the pages, Abbyy seems to have ignored those fine.

Some questions:
When I copy and paste into Sigil there are big spaces between paragraphs, this doesn't look right to me, how can I correct this?

In Abbyy is there any way of getting it to not highlight almost every instance of the word "I" since they're all correct? Quotes are highlighted too but the only genuine error i've seen so far is ",'" being read as "/", any way to stop it highlighting them all?

I'm guessing the page numbering isn't kept the same as the physical book as the readers can change text size? My thought was that I'd just have forced page breaks for each chapter, is this how it is usually done?
dar72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:34 AM   #2
KoopaOne
Austrian Bookworm