Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Old 11-28-2010, 09:16 AM   #1
Dereks
Connoisseur
Dereks began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle Paperwhite 1
Exclamation Recipe for Ukrainian Economic / Legal news sites.

Hi folks,

I have to tell that I'm a total rookie here. For half a year I've been using this shamefully primitive self-made recipe to download news from Ukrainian economic sites.

Here is the recipe itself:

Code:
class AdvancedUserRecipe1268599504(BasicNewsRecipe):
    title          = u'Economics UA'
    oldest_article = 7
    max_articles_per_feed = 100

feeds          = [(u'Publications', u'http://www.epravda.com.ua/rss/id_433/'), (u'Columnists', u'http://www.epravda.com.ua/rss/id_432/'), (u'Finance.UA articles', u'http://feed43.com/6441846012758810.xml'), (u'Liga:News', u'http://news.ligazakon.ua/news_rss/tape_clauses.xml')]

def print_version(self, url):
	if url.startswith('http://www.epravda.com.ua'): 
   	     return url + 'view_print/'
	else: 
	     return url
Generally it worked Ok, excluding the fact, that sometimes fonts looked funny, but that was fine by me.
But since inclusion of periodics script for Sony Readers this recipe started to act funny. When opened on my PRS-650, it either freezes, slows or crashes the device, even though random pages, I've manged to load seem to look ok. This problems seems to be specific only to this feed - other standard calibre recipes or self-made recipes are handled perfectly by the reader.
I do realize that throwing in several feeds into one recipe is not a good thing, so don't object splitting it up, just don't know how to do it properly.
And yeah, the funny RSS-feed address at feed43.com is actually a service I use, which allows you to create an RSS-feeds from almost any site, since that site don't have specific RSS-feeds for the column I want to read.