Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 01-08-2011, 06:55 AM   #1
dapex
dapex began at the beginning.

Device: kindle
major problems converting pdf

Hi all, I have to admit I am pretty new to ebook readers, Wife bought me a kindle for xmas and its great, however most my reading material is in PDF format and when I use Calibre to convert books I always get a messed up conversion. I end up with the name of the book randomly inserted into the pages, or quite simply text appears in the converted book that isnt in the PDF.

Can anyone advise why this is happening, or am I simply expecting to much?

I thought I should be able to take a perfectly formatted pdf and convert it to epub or mobi and have the same output?

If it helps I have uploaded a PDF and the mobi conversion in a zip file here
http://www.fileserve.com/file/EQPxZHd

If anyone can hekp then please do as its really ruining the reading experience at present.

Cheers

edited to add, just found out whats causing one particular issue, just dont know how to resolve it, I have a few PDF's and at the top of each page it has the page number and the title of the book, when I convert these PDF's into either epub or mobi (doing epub conversion for a friend with a samsung ereader) the page number and book title are being made bold and larger text and then being insterted into the middle of the sentance, so the conversion isnt able to tell thats its the start of a new page, I ahve no idea how to tell it thats this is the start of a new page, ideally I want it to ignore the page number and the book title unless it can add it as it is in the PDF.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by dapex; 01-08-2011 at 07:33 AM.
dapex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 08:14 AM   #2
ldolse
Wizard