Go Back   MobileRead Forums > Miscellaneous > Flea Market

Notices

Old 09-07-2010, 08:00 PM   #1
aeolus
aeolus began at the beginning.

Device: none
Buying a reader from a "far" country

Hello everyone,

I am a university student, who live in Turkey. I don't know if I open this thread in the right section, but I thought that one can only got the question "which one I should buy?" after he/she actually "can" have a chance to buy an ebook reader.

In my country, amazon or other dealers(sony, barnes and noble) don't have e-book reader branches. Also, because of low rates of book reading, it seems it's quite impossible to one company will invest on. But there are a huge amount of people-mostly students like me- who need an e-book reader. But because, my country is not a competitive area for sellers, we only can reach readers with very over-rated moneys. For example a man an sell old amazon kindle (kindle 1) from nearly 300,- Euro.

My only wish is that is it not possible for this site, that someone over there, who can reach those devices witihin fair prices help us about this. I am not quite sure it is against the principles of this site but, in my humble opininon, it is social duty for a site that grew huge and become a "masterpiece" like this one.

Also, this offerings can be made for earning some extra money for you over there, but I know no matter how high profit you add the selling price before sending them to us, you can't even get closer to the prices in my country. Besides because most models are under 350,- Euro -which is the limit for a property that can enter in my country without customs tariff- and there are no place or branches that sell this devices it is totally legal.

What are your opinions and advices about this?
(btw. sorry if my English is not good enough.)

Last edited by Dr. Drib; 10-10-2010 at 07:08 AM. Reason: OP has moved
aeolus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 08:03 PM   #2
desertgrandma
Enjoying the show....