Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 08-24-2011, 05:27 PM   #1
distorteddisco
Enthusiast
distorteddisco began at the beginning.

Device: Kobo Touch
Just a word of warning to Touch owners

I have been posting here for a while on and off. I bought the Kobo to support small Canadian companies and I liked the look of the device. I actually really enjoyed having the device, and I liked how often they updated the firmware. I'm a student in engineering and was even considering applying to Kobo for an internship.

Unfortunately, one day my screen malfunctioned. There was no drop, no crack, no physical damage to the device... part of the screen is stuck in place and does not change.

I contacted Kobo Support. After a week (!) of waiting, I finally received a reply. I sent them my touch, and a few days later I received word that they would not be replacing the unit as I had "damaged" it. I will repeat, there was NO physical damage to this unit.

Thus far I have had no luck in contacting a manager (or even an actual telephone number - the one Chapters gave me is disconnected and all they have on their website is an email address) to even speak to someone about this. I am very, VERY unhappy and will be warning all of my friends about how poorly this company has treating their customers. I really wanted to support a small, starting Canadian company. It looks like I should have just gone with a Kindle or a Nook instead.

If someone from Kobo happens to read this and can offer ANY assistance, please send me a PM. I have not yet decided if I'll pay their $60 fee to replace the unit.

In short, cross your fingers that your screen isn't defective. It'll cost you $60 plus shipping.

Drew
distorteddisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 05:30 PM   #2
distorteddisco
Enthusiast