Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 07-27-2010, 12:17 AM   #1
baekgom84
baekgom84 began at the beginning.

Device: Next Papyrus Pageone (Foxit Eslick PS)
Buying ebooks online...

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the e-book scene here and wasn't sure where to post this. I live in South Korea, and given the somewhat limited availability of English books here, it seemed that getting an e-reader was a wise choice. Recently I purchased a Next Papyrus Pageone e-reader (I believe this will be known as the Foxit eSlick PS when it comes out in other countries) which is somewhat lacking in features but quite cheap compared to the alternatives and perfectly functional for reading text.

However, one thing I didn't spend enough time researching was where I was going to get the ebooks from. I hadn't realised that virtually all of the major e-book retailers use DRM to restrict their e-books to certain devices, pretty much all of which do not support my e-reader (I suppose because it's sold exclusively in Korea, and understandably most Korean e-book owners don't place contemporary English texts high on their priority lists.) There also seem to be a few retailers, like the Sony e-book store, that restrict their sales to a handful of countries.

This leaves me in a difficult position. I found that Kobo will let me use my Korean debit card, and after some wrangling I managed to remove their DRM so that I could put the books on my reader. But still, their catalogue is missing or has restricted several titles that I'm interested in, which I've seen for sale on other sites like Amazon or the Sony reader site. As I've said, Sony won't let me use my Korean credit card, and possibly Barnes and Noble won't either (though I haven't tried yet.) This leaves Amazon.