Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > Writers' Corner

Notices

Old 03-08-2009, 04:05 PM   #1
giddion
Connoisseur
giddion doesn't littergiddion doesn't litter

Device: samsung i910 now - cybook later
Question new eRetailor / pub looking for advice

OK, background to start with in case you haven't caught me in other threads.

I'm a professional web developer, I work for a college and I own my own business as well. I am familiar with ebooks and have done some work with the publishing tools for each format. I'm a supporter of the technology and want to encourage it's adoption.

I have a business client that has been in online retail for over a decade, and in the catalog of products he sells there are a small number of books. For the books he sells he has a very close working relationship with the authors. Business has been slow for him the last year or so, as it has been for many retailers, and he's been looking for new products and new ways to make a profit.

I pointed out to him that ebooks are a growing business and I suggested that his established online presence coupled with his relationship those authors might be an untapped opportunity.

So my client has spoken to two of the authors, and they are interested in getting some of their books out on the market in ebook format. Additional they have books that are either no longer under contract with a publisher and/or books that have never been picked up by a publisher.

I've also convinced my client that's customers are happier buying DRM free products and that selling DRM free products reduces the potential customer service over head as people look to moved purchased content from one device to another as they purchase new devices.

So things I'm looking for advice on, with the assumption that I'm generating the ebook files:

What percentages of the retail sale should each party expect?