Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > PocketBook

Notices

Old 01-21-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
Spiritwnd
Spiritwnd is on a distinguished road

Device: G1, Pocketbook 301+
Pocketbook 301+ First Impressions

As a computer programmer, I have many many reference books sitting around and my wife would like some real estate back in the living room or fewer book cases.

I needed an eReader that was able to handle PDFs (not flawlessly) in an acceptable manner. Also CHM files would be nice to include and carry.

After reading many forums here and finally asking. I cancelled the order for the Nook, ordered the Pocketbook 301+ and my first impression was WOW.

I had pre-staged folders on a SD card while I was waiting for the arrival of my new device. When it showed up I opened it. Powered it on, did a firm ware check (it was already updated) and tossed the SD card in.

I gave me an hour glass and then displayed all my folders. I enter into one marked Programming that I knew had the most difficult PDF I owned. A book from O'Reilly in the Head Start series. Well, it displayed it. I could barely read it as it was trying to do full size in the 6" window. I knew it wouldn't reflow so I just adjusted it to landscape and started to browse the book. It wasn't difficult to read, it was also not the easiest thing to read. There were ways to view this file.
I opened a CHM and it was perfect for a 6" screen.
I opened a different PDF and it was perfect for a 6" screen.

For what I need to do, this is perfect. I can fiddle to pull up a file and get it reformat since I am not pleasure reading.

I do agree with others that a larger screen would be perfect. That is not what I desired in my first eReader.

Between all the PDFs, DOCs, CHMs and such that I have they now exist on a single SD card and I can view them just fine with my PocketBook 301+ when I need to research them.

Thank you all for the help.

-Spirit