Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Old 12-15-2010, 07:52 PM   #1
MartinDu
MartinDu began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle DXG
An E-Reader Just Like Paper... Isn't that the Point!?

Hello,

My name is Marty Duggan. I'm a Medical Student, who is dating a Psychology Grad Student. I would like to get her an E-Reader for Christmas. This is my first Legit (non-intro) post. I want this device to be as close to paper as possible in every conceivable way. I know that was the ultimate goal at the start... But things have seemingly gone awry. I have not been able to find any similar threads yet. Maybe I'm the only one thinking like this? But I will list my priorities in an E-Reader device in order of importance.

#1) By FAR the most important feature, and the one for which I'd sacrifice on any of the other features.... IS: THE ABILITY TO HIGHLIGHT AND TAKE NOTES WITH A STYLUS OR WHATEVER ON THE ACTUAL SCREEN, SOMETHING SO THAT I CAN HIGHLIGHT/WRITE NOTES ON IT LIKE I CAN ON PAPER. Call me old-school, but using a key pad and scrolling around on the page (ala the kindle), just doesn't get it done. Like I said, think "paper." OBVIUOSLY, THIS FEATURE IS USELESS IF I CANNOT GO BACK AND LOOK AT WHAT I'VE HIGHLIGHTED OR JOT DOWN...
--Okay, I'm a realist, so I acknowledge that paper is paper and an ereader is an ereader, and that the ability to jot notes directly onto the screen with a "pencil-like or highlighter-like device" will probably never be equal between the two mediums... However, I just can't bring myself to buy one of these devices until I can drag a physical, highlighter/pencil-like thing across the screen... Obviously I don't expect this feature to be perfect (slight delay as I write or more expensive or something like this), but it's just gotta be there before this purchase makes sense to a couple of students.