Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 09-07-2009, 11:12 PM   #1
nsaspook
nsaspook began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-600
PRS-600 for Tech library

I'm testing a PRS-600 at work for a possible factory (clean-room) doc reader. I have about 3000 pdf files taking about 3GB of storage just for one equipment group. The files are in separate equipment folders on a network drive that we normally access using a windows based PC and acrobat reader.
Should I leave the files as pdfs, or convert them to a better format for the sony reader? Many of the files are large format 11x17 scans and contain a large amount of electronic circuits and wiring so there will be lots of zooming. I have a master index of the files that matches the title to a 10 digit file name for the pdfs so creating index/metadata conversion for a batch operation should be possible..
nsaspook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:53 AM   #2
RWood
Technogeezer
RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.RWood ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Sony PRS-500
Some time ago I worked with a company to convert their tech manuals to the PRS-500. On the 500 the PDF zoom (size change button) would only eliminate the white space around the PDF image. It never made the image readable. This was for 8.5" x 11" letter sized PDF files. 11" x 17" images did not display at all.