Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 09-18-2007, 11:10 AM   #1
macastronomer
macastronomer began at the beginning.

Device: eReader PRS500
Reader overly delicate?

I got an eReader recently, and within 4 days the screen was internally cracked.

I'm a systems programmer and IT technician. I've worked on many small devices with screens (Laptops, iPods, Palm Pilots) and I've never seen this happen.

Nothing beyond normal use, and the screen cracked (internally mind you—no outside damage what-so-ever), causing the very left side of the screen to not work.

I sent it off to Sony and they said that ANY damage to the screen is not covered.

There are only two possibilities here: 1) this product is extremely fragile or 2) My device had a physical defect.

In either case, I would be extremely careful with this product as normal use can lead to a $250 repair. Or better yet, purchase another device for your digital reading.
macastronomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:19 AM   #2
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle Oasis 2, iPad Pro 10.5", iPhone 6