Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 08-06-2010, 04:24 PM   #1
DarkHaloPrincess
Oooooeeeeeeeee...
DarkHaloPrincess doesn't litterDarkHaloPrincess doesn't litterDarkHaloPrincess doesn't litter

Device: Sony Pocket Edition (Rose Pink) & Kindle 3 (Preordered)
Pre-ordered my first every Kindle but not sure how it all works. Help please?

Hi, I took the plunge and pre-ordered the new kindle 3 wifi only (UK version). This is my first time for the kindle and I've had my sony pocket read for the last 2/3 months (which I LOVE). I wasn't interested in the kindle before as it was only available from the US which increased the total of what I would spend with all the shipping costs etc/ and how Amazon US books were not all available to the UK.

However, I love the £109.00 price tag for the uk and Amazon ebooks seem way cheaper than either Waterstones or WHsmith. BUT, now I'm wondering about how the Amazon and the Kindle work together. Months ago, I found articles on how Amazon removed a book from most (if not all) kindle devices because of some publisher's issues.

So I'd be very happy if any Kindle owners or anyone could please explain to me how it all works. In this case, I understand that Amazon tracks and logs the last page you're reading and keeps a back up of all Amazon books downloaded. BUT what I want to know is, can Amazon remove any documents I transfer(via laptop) to the Kindle? Do they log those documents as well - e.g. pdf's etc? They don't keep a back up of my uploaded contents do they - but only only Amazon (.azw) files?

Do they know exactly what I'm reading and at what time? That's seems a little like 'BIG BROTHER'. - I don't mean any offense with this - I just want to know. I don't want Amazon reading what I'm reading (in case it's my personal work files etc) and removing docs from the kindle. What's the limit to their remote access?

Thanks for any answers.