Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > Workshop

Notices

Old 02-09-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
TechSarge
TechSarge began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle 4 SO (Died), Kindle Fire HD 7"
Best format for scanned books?

I'm a bit new to the ebook world. I'm trying to make a few ebooks from some obscure, out-of-print books. The original formatting runs the gamut: All text, mostly text with some B&W line art (a map, etc.), a book with greyscale photos and text, to a coffee table type book with lots of colour photos inside the text. The text is sometimes standard, single column; but there are at least two books with double column text and one with triple column! This is a nightmare.

The books were all scanned on a flatbed scanner a few years ago, saved to TIFF files. Some are single page, some are double page. I must say that some pages turned out OK, but some are horrible and require manual tweaking.

I discovered Scan Tailor a few days ago and have run it on a few books which are good examples of the headaches above. I LOVE Scan Tailor! What I had started out trying to do a page at a time in Photoshop 5 a few years ago with no experience ST did in minutes across an entire book.

So, few problems now, though.

ST's output TIFFS for the colour photo coffee table book was over 10 times the file size of the originals (orig. about 8 MB, output was ~80-100 MB or more, per file). Everything set to 600 dpi, as that was what they were scanned at, IIRC. I had to run them through PIXresizer to get them to a manageable size again. The B&W output files were wonderful, though.