Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Formats > PDF

Notices

Old 06-30-2011, 09:36 AM   #1
tkmudholkar
tkmudholkar began at the beginning.

Device: none
Question Support for mathematical equations in PDFs

Hi everyone,

I am a student and have to read a lot of PDFs, some of which are journal papers and include mathematical equations and symbols. I am thinking of getting an Amazon Kindle 3, and I wanted to ask how good support is for displaying mathematical equations as part of PDFs. I don't mind panning and zooming as long as the images and symbols are displayed correctly.

Also, how well are symbols and mathematical equations preserved during conversion of PDFs to other formats like MOBI or EPUB? From my experience after installing Calibre, it seems that conversion kills any mathematical stuff.

I'm sorry if this has been asked before. Could someone just provide me a link to the relevant thread/webpage?

Thanks!
tkmudholkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:06 AM   #2
Jellby
frumious Bandersnatch
Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Jellby ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Cybook Orizon, Kobo Aura
If the math fonts are embedded in the PDF (they often are, but I've encountered some cases where they aren't), they should work in any decent PDF reader, and I guess the Kindle3 is/has one of them.

Conversion to other formats is a whole different matter, and I wouldn't much from it.