Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 08-31-2009, 07:59 PM   #1
dtacha
dtacha began at the beginning.

Device: none
touchscreen+dictionaries+font support

dear forum participants,

i am new in this world and looking for a long-term relationship with an e-book reader. :-)

since i like learning foreign languages and speak 12 (including turkish, japanese, arabic, russian and greek) the device must have font support and user-friendly dictionaries (definitely touchscreen and freeware dictionaries if possible).

plus, it must have e-ink, pdf support and i must be able to underline important passages while reading.

what would you recommend?

thanks in advance!

Last edited by dtacha; 08-31-2009 at 08:07 PM.
dtacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 03:26 AM   #2
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kindle Oasis 2, iPad Pro 10.5", iPhone 6
The iRex DR1000S probably comes closest to meeting your requirements. It has excellent support for Mobipocket dictionaries, which can be used to look up words in PDF files, and the PDF files themselves support all the languages that you describe (provided that they have the appropriate fonts embedded in them).